Rachael’s Vision Therapy Success Story

Rachael was an exceptional patient. Her dedication and efforts pushed staff to think outside of the box and come up with more challenging activities. Rachael had even come up with some new and more challenging ways to do some activities. She always came in with a great attitude and put in a 110% during therapy and with her homework. This helped Rachael so much that she was able to graduate early! Reading was her biggest struggle in school. She was in the 25th percentile in her Reading class and moved to the 82nd percentile. This shows how all of her hard work paid off. We are all so proud of Rachael! We really enjoyed watching her progress and were elated when we seen her achievements in school! Here is Rachael’s Success Story in her own words:

My name is Rachael and I am 9 years old. I love school very much but reading class was very hard. I did not know why. I was in the bottom reading class in school. Writing, spelling and copy work were also hard.

 I saw many different doctors trying to figure out what was wrong. My teacher said I should try the Vision Development Center. Dr. Ashley knew what was wrong with my eyes right away. My eyes didn’t track together and they did not listen to my brain.

I began eye therapy in October. At first it was hard but the teachers were so nice and kind. Miss Nikki and Miss Sarah encouraged me to do my best. Dr. Ashley’s plan started working.

 Reading became easier for me. I was moved to a higher reading group. After I got used to eye therapy it got easier and easier. When I got really good Dr. Ashley made up new eye therapy work for me. I went from a second grade reading level to a fifth grade reading level. I am glad to graduate from eye therapy but I will miss everyone at VDC!

 I will miss you. Thank you for everything!

 Love,

Rachael

 

Leave a Reply

